Freewrite Friday: Two Weeks Unnoticed

cliff jump.jpg
Earlier this year, I thought that I had finally found my footing in my newfound post grad life. I secured a stable job with decent pay and benefits. I thought that from here on out, it’s just paying my bills and making ends meet. I was finally comfortable with where I was at. However, “life” does not “do” comfortable and will force you to move in directions that you won’t see coming or be prepared for. To be honest with you, although I was comfortable at this job, the new management, schedule, and new work environment is pushing me to go down a route that I never thought would come so soon: quitting.

I really, really wanted this job to work out and I wanted to give it a chance since I had only been working at the company for only five months. My constant feeling of unhappiness and lack of fulfillment from this job is starting to affect my overall mood and it is spilling onto my own personal relationships. I know that it’s time for me to go, but I am terrified of this drastic change and starting over, which brings us to the inspiration of this post. How in the world do you deal with leaping out of your comfort zone into the unknown? My heart races every time I pull up Indeed.com or job listings on LinkedIn. I feel like I’m betraying my commitment with the company and that I should stay a little bit longer. Maybe things will get better. Another part of me is asking, when will enough be enough? Am I waiting for a severe injustice to happen to me at work? Do I have to default on credit card payments? When will I have a good enough reason to leave?

“Don’t allow your rituals to become ruts.”

-Henry Todd 

Some of you out there may be saying, “Girl just do it. Apply to more jobs, submit your two weeks, and be done with it.”
I can’t process the simplicity of this formula. For me, it’s so much more than just quitting your job. It’s leaving your comfort zone, making yourself vulnerable to the unknown, saying goodbye, learning new names, it’s scary.

Maybe I’m just overthinking this, but I just wanted to be more open about where I am currently at. If any of you have any advice on how to confidently take this leap of faith, please enlighten me.

When was the last time you took yourself out of a problematic situation? How did you feel afterward? How has the experience changed you?

Leave a Reply

