Freewrite Friday: Creation & Collaboration

collaboration

In college, I hated group projects. I would rather take a math class than do a group project. I felt as if group projects were not monitored enough by the professors and there would always be one person who doesn’t do anything. I feel like the worst part is finding people to work with if they aren’t already assigned. It made shit awkward because you’re forced to work with complete strangers who are all just in this class to graduate.

After being part of the YouTube community, I learned that group work, or collaborations are one of the most effective ways to cross promote channels. For me, this was a huge blow. I thought, “I have to work with people from all over the world? What a terrible idea!” When I was first asked to collab with another YouTuber, I was not really looking forward to it. Like, how do you do a video collaboration together if the person you’re doing this with lives in another continent? It seemed silly to me, and a huge gamble on your time. I always questioned what if the other person doesn’t follow through on their ed of the collab? What happens to my video and time wasted on doing a project for 2 people? Because of this concern, I stopped doing collabs for a few years.

“If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, bring others along.”
– African Proverbs

This past week, I opened my heart up again to collaborating with other artists, and the project I’m working on is a voiceover swap with my friend, Galaxyhood23 (aka Adam). I’m a little nervous because this is the first collab that I am doing in a very long time AND it’s with someone from another niche. I’m not exactly too sure how to alter a video to appeal to another niche, but I have a few ideas.

In addition to working with Adam, I also helped out my friend, Nathan, start up his first blog for his writing and photography. He was mainly on Instagram, but he’s slowly extending to using other social platforms. Teaching and seeing him have the time of his life working on a new project was so awesome. We were literally just working on our blogs for pretty much majority of our time together. Although there was silence, it was comforting to know that we were creating, together.

Which, brings us back to the point of the post. There are some pretty shitty moments when it comes to group work, especially when someone’s heart isn’t in it. But, after choosing to create something that other people are truly passionate about, the finished product becomes more than a group project. It becomes a collaboration. I’m still trying to adjust my views on collaborating with other people and to start trusting others again. It’ll take some time, but I know that in order to grow and learn more about yourself, others, and the project you are creating, you must collaborate and experience working, sharing, and creating with others.

Leave a Reply

