audio Music Monday: Country Meets Coffee Shop

I’m pretty excited about this one. Upon browsing the Discover page on Spotify, I stumbled across this artist named Maren Morris. I listened to the first song listed titled, called Sugar. At first I thought this song was going to have a hip hop & rock fusion type of vibe, but then the chorus hits you with a Carrie Underwood/ early Taylor Swift country sound instead. It took awhile for me to process what genre this song would fall under, but then as the song progresses toward the bridge, everything tied together seamlessly, and I really liked it.

Morris’ music reminds me of the bright, light rock songs that would play in the background of coffee shops during the lunch rush. Her music puts me in a good mood and makes me feel productive. Heck, she’s helping me write this post right now! I was never really a huge fan of country music except for a few of Carrie Underwood’s hit songs and when Miley Cyrus was still Hannah Montana, but Maren Morris hits that sweet spot that satisfies my need for hard hitting beats and a sick guitar solo. Believe me when I say she is an edgy version of 2012 Taylor Swift.

Check her out here!

Leave a Reply

