quote QOTD: Never Look Back

“Never look back unless you are planning to go that way.” – Henry David Thoreau

I came across this quote by accident early today. I have an extension on chrome that gives me daily quotes to reflect on, and this was the quote of the day. I knew I had to write about it since I had to stop and read it over a few times.

This quote really resonates well with me because after these past few months in my post-grad journey, there were so many times where I felt like I wanted to go back in time to either high school or college. At first I thought that I was just reminiscing, but I realized that these thoughts were more than just “remembering the good ol’ days.” I actually wanted to physically go back in time and relive certain moments in my life. I wasn’t accepting my current reality.

I still have strong ties with the people I went to university with as well as with the people who are still attending university. Because of that, there are so many things that bring me back to my college days and seeing Instagram posts and Facebook event pages relating to college definitely make me wish I was there. It’s just really hard to move on from a certain time when there are ties and everyday reminders that transport you back. When I close my eyes, I can still see flashbacks of these moments through my own perspective. I am also 100 percent positive that all of these moments happened, yet it just feels more like a vivid dream.

It’s been less than a year since  I graduated from university, and I know I still have yet to learn to let go and be grateful for my time in school. I must learn to move on and close this chapter in my life and be open to my next big adventure. It’s time to create my own structure that does not revolve around doing schoolwork. I need to use this moment to really explore my passions again and rediscover who I am not as a student, but as a person.

Thoreau’s quote really made me think about the difference between looking back and taking steps back and how the two are related. I don’t think his intention was to bash on reminiscing the good times, but more so on the idea of living in the past and prolonging change. It’s as if he is saying that by dwelling on the past, you are wasting time and rejecting the possibility of what could be.

We should honor the past, not repeat it.

Leave a Reply

