Freewrite Friday: The First Friday

Today marks the first Friday of 2017 and so far, I can say that it is off to a rad start! This whole week was amazing (minus me getting my period). On Sunday,  I officially received my very first New Year’s kiss. As cheesy as it sounds, to be able to share this special moment with someone you truly love at the start of a new year has been a dream of mine since I was a little girl. I’ve seen it in almost every rom-com and reblogged tumblr post, and I’ve always known that I would save this kiss for someone who meant the world to me– someone who takes away any concept of time, gives me unconditional love, and someone who motivates me to be the best version of myself every day. I’ve always envisioned my first New Year’s kiss to be super romantic and time-stopping like the famous Times Square kiss, however, it was nothing like that at all. I spent it watching Pitbull’s New Year’s Eve in my PJ’s, shared a split second kiss at midnight, then knocked out by 12:01. It was definitely more realistic than what I’ve built it up to be, but I loved every moment of it because it was shared with someone I truly loved, and that was all that really mattered.

I’ve missed this feeling of pure bliss in a relationship and I honestly haven’t felt this way in a long time. My heart feels full and I know I am starting 2017 off emotionally healthy and balanced.

Unfortunately, I had to come down from cloud 9 this New Year’s and get back to work the next day. As some of you know, I work at a mall. The company that I work for opened retail stores after being an online store for almost five years. This past week was probably the first real work week, and it was kind of hard to get through. There’s not much to do at the store, so there were a lot of moments where one minute equated to almost an hour. I finished off this work week at a new location for the store, and I was getting pretty good vibes from all of the neighboring retailers and super fans. It made me feel very welcome and warm to the mall community. I made a few new friends with the guest services team and the sales associates at Ouchii. I can’t wait to see where these relationships will go.

This week, I also decided to take better care of my health. With tons of restaurants now easily accessible to me, I fell victim to living on a diet of Chipotle salads and Starbucks green tea lattes. It got to a point where I was not even hungry for lunch anymore and resulted to a pretzel from Auntie Anne’s because it was next door with basically no wait time. I was going down a dark route, SO, after one of my shifts, I forced myself to go to Target to buy some salad mix, hummus, and carrot sticks to jump start my clean eating journey! Sure, it doesn’t sound like much, but it’s a whole lot better than eating two almond pretzels from Auntie Anne’s for lunch. Hopefully I will keep this up because I am getting a little chubby again from Winter hibernation, and I’ve been losing money faster than I’ve been making it.

So where does this all leave me today? Today, I am feeling content with how I spent my week. I’m definitely more determined to blog and film more consistently. It’s still in the works, and I promise you, I will have fresh content coming this year. I’m eager to get back on track with my fitness goals, and I want to maximize my productivity overall as well as maintain a healthy work-life balance. 2017 will be all about balance, humility, and transformation.

Leave a Reply

