Kickin’ it at Koja Kitchen: First Impression

I was spending some time in San Jose and hit up this foodie hot spot called Koja Kitchen. I’ve seen pics of their food on Instagram and Pinterest, and the food looks amazing even underneath all of those filters. I knew I had to give this restaurant a try because of one main reason and one reason only: Korean BBQ.

I ordered the Korean Beef Bowl with a side of Kamikaze fries, and my first impression upon receiving my meal was, “Damn, this smells amazing.”

beef bowlMy Beef Bowl came with Korean BBQ beef, sauteed onions, kimchi, masago, red sauce, green onions, fried shallots, sesame seeds, spring greens, and furikake brown rice. It was delicious. It honestly reminded me of traditional Filipino breakfasts. I think it had something to do with the side of rice. Overall this dish was amazing. The brown rice was fluffy and lightly seasoned with the furikake. The greens were fresh and lightly steamed by the freshly-cooked meat. The kimchi was tangy and not too spicy or overpowering, and the barbecue was tender, sweet, and full of flavor. It was probably one of the best KBBQ dishes I’ve ever had in my life so far.

 

KamikazeFriesThe Kamikaze fries is one of the most popular dishes on their menu. It came with crisscut waffle fries, minced Korean BBQ beef, kimchi, Japanese mayo, red sauce, and green onion. In my personal opinion, it was alright. It wasn’t super stellar or anything. It was an extension of my beef bowl but with fries instead of rice. Since I had my meal to go, a lot of the toppings sat on top of the pile of fries rather than seep through onto other fries, so the fries at the bottom are bare.

Overall, my experience with Koja Kitchen was great. I ordered food for pick up through an app and when I arrived at the restaurant, the food was already ready for me. The cashiers and cooks were really friendly and the restaurant ambiance was quite calm and trendy. I will definitely be visiting them again, but instead I’ll kick it in the Kitchen instead of opting for takeout!

 

 

Leave a Reply

