Passion over Paycheck

 

writing

This phrase appears across almost all of my social media pages at least once. I first came across this phrase when I was vacationing in Las Vegas, Nevada with my family. I was walking by the promenade behind the LINQ hotel and I saw the phrase plastered in huge letters on a graffiti art piece. The quote has stuck with me ever since.

12241296_1158249994189597_6348077751248529134_n

To me, Passion over Paycheck means that whatever endeavor you pursue in life, make sure you are passionate about it. Never settle on a job that gets you by because next thing you know, 10 years of your life has gone by right before your eyes. Growing up, I was conditioned to believe that I must strive for a 9-5 as a nurse or lawyer. I was always told to follow the way of society: go to school, get a job, get married, have kids.

Screw that.

Deep in my heart, I’ve always known that I did not want any of that. To this day, I want to pursue a career that I would create with my own two hands. I want to exercise my artistic abilities and think outside the office. I want to be the farthest thing from ordinary. I want to inspire people to do the same.

From my past 21 years of being a naive young adult, I’ve learned that the heart always wins in some way or another, whether if it is through fulfillment or regret. I’ve seen too many people throw away their passions and hobbies for a 9-5 paycheck, and although their bank account is happy, they still feel incomplete. I refuse to let myself fall into that routine. Money comes and goes, but the opportunity to pursue your passion only comes once in a lifetime.

So, don’t waste it and do what you love, with love, always.

Leave a Reply

